Posted by: stevedawg | March 19, 2008

My Sleep Study

So, what am I doing to prepare for my sleep study on Thursday night?

Not much.

That’s part of the beauty of having an overnight sleep study to determine if I have sleep apnea or some other sleep-related problem. All I really need to do is stay off the caffeine on Thursday afternoon, pack my bag, and show up at about 9 p.m. at the Sleep Wellness Institute, where I also work. Admittedly, the idea of my colleagues watching me and videotaping me as I sleep is a little unnerving, but as long as I don’t drool or fart too much, it should be ok.

The important thing is that I’m getting it done. With my history of heart trouble and family history of sleep apnea, this isn’t something to screw around with. Besides, as my wife says, if I don’t get a handle on the rip-roaring snoring and snorting I do at night, she might be tempted to solve the problem herself with a pillow over my face! So, spending the night at work in a gorgeous, hotel-like room with a flat panel TV and my own bath and shower doesn’t sound so bad.

More to come after my study …

StevedawgSleep room

Leave a Reply

Categories

